The only persons allowed to possess cannabis legally in Oklahoma are licensed medical marijuana patients and their registered guardians or caregivers. Licensed marijuana business operators are also allowed to carry cannabis. The licensed marijuana business operators may be licensed commercial marijuana growers or licensed medical marijuana dispensaries. Regardless of the person's age, anyone caught in possession of marijuana without having a license will be guilty of a Class A offense, which will warrant a fine of $400. The citation for the offense will be handled in the Municipal Court as it is done in the cases of traffic tickets. The possession of marijuana paraphernalia without having a medical marijuana license will warrant a fine of $50. No amount of marijuana is legally allowed to be possessed for recreational purposes in Oklahoma.
There are several places where licensed medical marijuana patients in Oklahoma can smoke marijuana. These places include:
The regulation of the smoking of marijuana in the state falls under the Oklahoma Smoking in Public Places Act. This law makes it illegal to smoke marijuana in public places in Oklahoma. The Act refers to the possession of lighted tobacco or marijuana as a public nuisance that is also harmful to public health. By this Act, it is prohibited to light and smoke marijuana in the following areas:
No one is allowed to carry cannabis around in Oklahoma except licensed medical marijuana patients, their caregivers, or licensed marijuana business operators. A licensed medical marijuana patient or their caregiver is only allowed to possess and carry around with them a maximum of three (3) ounces of marijuana. Licensed medical marijuana patients are permitted to drive while having marijuana in their car, but the marijuana must be closed and out of the driver's reach.
Federal laws prohibit the possession of cannabis. Moving cannabis across state boundaries is a federal crime. The federal law classifies the simple possession of marijuana as a criminal offense, which may attract one-year imprisonment or a minimum fine of $1,000 or both. A second-time offender for a similar drug crime may be charged with a felony under federal law. A patient may obtain a medical marijuana card in another state and purchase marijuana there, but they can not bring it into Oklahoma. Licensed medical marijuana patients who intend to plant the seeds of marijuana in their homes can only get seeds within the state. They will be committing an offense if they transport marijuana seeds across state boundaries.
The use of cannabis can affect a person's driving records in Oklahoma. This is regardless of whether the person is a licensed medical marijuana patient or they have consumed marijuana illegally. That a patient is licensed to take marijuana does not imply that they can operate a vehicle under the influence of marijuana. They can have their license revoked or suspended if they are caught driving under the influence of marijuana. Similar to other prescription drugs, the labels of medical marijuana products bear the warning; "Do not operate heavy machinery or a motor vehicle."
According to the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office, the number of road hazards owing to the use of hard drugs has been on the increase. In 2016, 44% of the drivers killed during road accidents in the U.S. had hard drugs in their body systems. The highway safety office is currently very strict with DUI cases in the state.
Yes, anyone caught driving a car when they are intoxicated or impaired will be charged for DUI. Law enforcement agents in Oklahoma monitor the highway and pay attention to how people drive to identify impaired drivers. Medical marijuana patients must know that they can get high from taking medical marijuana. Marijuana contains delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), a mind-altering chemical, and more than 400 other chemicals. When anyone smokes marijuana, either due to a medical recommendation or otherwise, the THC spreads to the brain and every organ of the body, attaching to specific receptors on nerve cells. This affects the areas of the brain that control pleasure, concentration, coordination, thinking, sensory, and time perception. Some of the effects marijuana has on the brain, body, and behavior of its user are:
These altering effects on the brain are regarded as "high." The effects can last on a driver for periods ranging from two (2) to five (5) hours after taking the marijuana. Medical marijuana patients are to note that it is not safe to drive an automobile within this period. Law enforcement agents stop drivers whenever they observe signs of poor driving, and if the driver is caught driving under the influence of marijuana, they will be arrested.
Law enforcement agents take DUI offenders' blood, urine, or hair samples to conduct chemical tests for marijuana use. The results of these tests are obtained some days after the samples are taken. Oklahoma is working on the use of marijuana breathalyzers for DUI testing. Legislation has been passed for the Department of Public Safety to commence steps for using breathalyzer testing devices provided by the medical marijuana pilot program. Breathalyzers will be able to produce test results on the spot. The penalties for DUIs can cost more than $10,000 in fines and fees. Other penalties may include:
Only registered medical marijuana patients can buy marijuana in Oklahoma. Licensed medical marijuana dispensaries will only sell marijuana to persons that present their MMJ cards. A person who has a qualifying medical condition may see a physician to get a written document that certifies that marijuana is recommended for their treatment. This document will be required by the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority to process the license. Without a license, it is illegal to purchase medical marijuana in Oklahoma. If a medical marijuana license holder is less than 18 years old, they will not be allowed to enter into any medical marijuana dispensary. However, their registered guardian or caregiver can enter into a dispensary to purchase medical marijuana on their behalf.
The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority offers more than 1,400 licensed medical marijuana dispensaries in Oklahoma. Registered medical marijuana patients aged 18 and over can walk into any of these medical marijuana dispensaries to purchase medical marijuana. Medical marijuana may also be ordered online by visiting the website of any licensed medical marijuana dispensary in the state. Some of these dispensaries sell online and accept debit card payments.
Medical marijuana dispensaries in Oklahoma have no uniform price for marijuana. Medical marijuana is presented to patients in different forms and packages by the licensed medical marijuana dispensaries. Among the forms in which medical marijuana is presented include:
Flowers: This is the most popular form of marijuana. It is the smokable part of a female cannabis plant covered with trichomes (small hairlike outgrowth on the plant's surface). It can be smoked in a pipe, vaporized, or incorporated into edibles. The prices of marijuana flower packages range between $8 per gram and $18 per gram.
Concentrates: This is also called marijuana or cannabis extract. They are highly potent preparations of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) or cannabidiol (CBD). Some extracts are a combination of both. The percentage of THC in some concentrates may be as high as 80% or more. The prices of marijuana extract packages in the medical marijuana dispensaries range between $15 and $50 per gram.
Edibles: These are marijuana-infused foods or drinks. They contain cannabis extracts such as active ingredients. When edibles are consumed, their effects last longer in the body than when marijuana is smoked. Marijuana edibles come in different packages and different milligrams per volume. Their prices range between $5 to $25.
Pre-rolls: This preparation is a ready-to-go presentation of marijuana that patients can buy from dispensaries in Oklahoma. Many cannabis users, however, refer to it as joint. A patient can simply buy and smoke it as it is. The prices for marijuana pre-rolls range between $5 and $10. However, some hybrid pre-rolls are sold as high as $40.
Topicals: These are preparations of cannabis that are designed to be applied to the skin. They contain plant phytochemicals like tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). Topicals can be balms, oils, sprays, lotions, and creams. They are useful for a variety of medical purposes, such as skincare and first aid. The prices for marijuana topicals in Oklahoma in the different dispensaries range between $12 and $50.
Tinctures: Marijuana tinctures are either alcohol or water-based medicinal solutions made with marijuana extracts. They contain a range of cannabinoids such as THC, CBD, and other phytochemicals. Tinctures are administered orally; they are dropped under the tongue. They can also be mixed with food or drinks. Tinctures are presented in small glass bottles with caps that have droppers to make the dosing convenient for the users. The prices for marijuana tinctures in Oklahoma range between $37 and $100.
Vapes: These are accessories used to inhale cannabis vapor. They give a similar experience with the traditional smoking devices but have improved efficiency. The use of vapes is easier and healthier than traditional smoking methods. The prices of marijuana vapes across different medical marijuana dispensaries in Oklahoma range between $35 and $50.
The possession of any amount of recreational marijuana is illegal in Oklahoma. However, medical marijuana license holders, their registered guardians, or caregivers are legally permitted to possess marijuana in the following quantities:
|District of Columbia||Decriminalized||Yes||Yes|
|Georgia||Partly Decriminalized||Accepts only CBD Oil||No|
|Indiana||Partly Decriminalized||Accepts only CBD Oil||No|
|Iowa||Partly Decriminalized||Accepts only CBD Oil||No|
|Kentucky||Partly Decriminalized||Accepts only CBD Oil||No|
|New Hampshire||Partly Decriminalized||Yes||Yes|
|New Mexico||Partly Decriminalized||Yes||Yes|
|North Dakota||Partly Decriminalized||Yes||Yes|
|Rhode Island||Partly Decriminalized||Yes||Yes|
|Texas||Partly Decriminalized||Accepts only CBD Oil||No|
|Virginia||Partly Decriminalized||Accepts only CBD Oil||Yes|
|West Virginia||Partly Decriminalized||Yes||No|
|Wisconsin||Partly Decriminalized||Accepts only CBD Oil||No|