Cannabis cultivation in Comanche County for medical use was legalized by the State of Oklahoma’s Medical Marijuana and Patient Protection Act signed in March 2019. The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) of the Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) was created to regulate all things related to medical cannabis and license medical cannabis businesses.
Holders of the Oklahoma medical cannabis patient license or caregiver license are allowed to grow up to six cannabis seedlings and six mature cannabis plants at home. The medical cannabis home cultivator must own the residence or have the written permission of the owner to do so. The cannabis plants must be hidden from street view and must not be accessible to the public.
A medical cannabis cultivation company in Comanche County is required to have a medical marijuana grower license from the OMMA, which comes with a $2,500 nonrefundable application fee and requires a background check for the owners and officers. The license is processed in about 90 days and is issued along with a commercial transporter license that authorizes the licensed grower to transport medical cannabis to other licensed growers, processors, and dispensaries. All medical cannabis sold must be packaged and labeled according to the requirements of the Act.
A medical cannabis grower licensee is not allowed to sell directly to holders of the medical cannabis patient or caregiver license. The licensed medical cannabis grower facility must be more than 1,000 feet from any school and is subject to local zoning regulations.
There has been a moratorium on new applications for medical cannabis grower licenses since August 26, 2022. Current licensees are still allowed to renew their licenses yearly.
Effective June 1, 2023, the following amendments to the Act apply to medical cannabis grower licensees:
|Outdoor Medical Cannabis Grower Facility|
|Tier||Acreage||Annual Nonrefundable License Fee|
|Tier 1||Up to 2.5 acres||$2,500|
|Tier 2||2.5 to 5 acres||$5,000|
|Tier 3||5 to 10 acres||$10,000|
|Tier 4||10 to 20 acres||$20,000|
|Tier 5||20 to 30 acres||$30,000|
|Tier 6||30 to 40 acres||$40,000|
|Tier 7||40 to 50 acres||$50,000|
|Tier 8||Over 50 acres||$50,000 plus $2,000 per additional acre over 50 acres|
|Indoor Medical Cannabis Grower Facility|
|Tier||Flowering Canopy||Annual Nonrefundable License Fee|
|Tier 1||Up to 10,000 square feet||$2,500|
|Tier 2||10,001 to 20,000 square feet||$5,000|
|Tier 3||20,001 to 40,000 square feet||$10,000|
|Tier 4||40,001 to 60,000 square feet||$20,000|
|Tier 5||60,001 to 80,000 square feet||$30,000|
|Tier 6||80,001 to 99,999 square feet||$40,000|
|Tier 7||100,000 square feet and more||$50,000 plus $0.25 per square foot over 100,000 square feet|
A medical cannabis grower licensee is allowed to have both outdoor and indoor grower facilities but has to apply for them separately.
Medical cannabis product manufacturing in Comanche County is legal as mandated by the Medical Marijuana and Patient Protection Act of the State of Oklahoma.
Oklahoma patients or caregivers who are medical cannabis licensees growing medical cannabis at home are not allowed to extract medical cannabis concentrates through extraction equipment or processes using potentially dangerous materials such as carbon dioxide, propane, or butane.
A medical cannabis manufacturing company in Comanche County is required to have a medical cannabis processor license from the OMMA. A hazardous medical cannabis processor license is needed if the medical cannabis extraction method to be implemented will use chemicals that the OSHA Hazard Communication Standard deems dangerous. Otherwise, a non-hazardous processor license will be issued.
Both types of medical cannabis processor licenses also have a $2,500 nonrefundable application fee and entail a background check for company owners and officials. The license will be issued in about 90 days and comes with a commercial transporter license. A medical cannabis processor licensee is allowed to sell its products to other licensed medical cannabis processors and dispensaries.
A licensed medical cannabis processor is also allowed to process, for a fee, one ounce of medical cannabis concentrate at a time for medical cannabis patient or caregiver license holders provided the raw material is provided by the licensed patient or caregiver. The licensed processor is responsible for checking the validity of the medical cannabis license of the patient or caregiver.
A medical cannabis manufacturing facility must comply with local zoning regulations. All medical cannabis products of a licensed processor are subject to the Act’s packaging and labeling requirements.
A moratorium on new applications for medical cannabis processor licenses began on
August 26, 2022, but current license holders may still renew their licenses annually.
Effective June 1, 2023, the following amendments to the Act apply to medical cannabis processor licensees:
|Tier||Production Volume||Annual Nonrefundable License Fee|
|Tier 1||Up to 100 liters of cannabis concentrate or up to 10,000 pounds of production||$2,500|
|Tier 2||101 to 350 liters of cannabis concentrate or 10,001 to 10,001 to 50,000 pounds of production||$5,000|
|Tier 3||351 to 650 liters of cannabis concentrate or 50,001 to 150,000 pounds of production||$10,000|
|Tier 4||651 to 1,000 liters of cannabis concentrate or 150,001 to 300,000 pounds of production||$15,000|
|Tier 5||Over 1,001 liters of cannabis concentrate or over 301,000 pounds of production||$20,000|
For medical cannabis products in solid form, 1,000 grams is equivalent to one liter of cannabis concentrate.
The retail sale of medical cannabis and its products in Comanche County is legal as stipulated by the Medical Marijuana and Patient Protection Act in the State of Oklahoma.
A medical cannabis retail company in Comanche County is required to have a medical cannabis dispensary license from the OMMA, with an application fee costing $2,500 and the need for owners and officers to undergo a background check. Effective June 1, 2023, amendments to the Act set the medical cannabis dispensary's initial license fee at $2,500. The annual renewal fee shall be 10% of the combined annual sales tax and state excise tax, but not less than $2,500 and not exceeding $10,000.
The approved license is issued in approximately 90 days accompanied by a commercial transporter license. New applications for medical cannabis dispensary licenses are under a moratorium since August 26, 2022. Current licensees may still renew their licenses every year, though.
The licensed medical cannabis dispensary must be farther than 1,000 feet from any school and must abide by the zoning regulations of the locality. A medical cannabis grower licensee is allowed to sell medical cannabis and medical cannabis products by retail to the following:
other medical cannabis dispensary license holders
medical cannabis research license holders
medical cannabis patient license holders
medical cannabis caregiver license holders
the parent or guardian listed on the medical cannabis minor patient’s license
The licensed medical cannabis dispensary is accountable for verifying the validity of every purchaser’s medical cannabis license.
Licensed medical cannabis dispensaries are allowed to sell medical cannabis seedlings, mature plants, flowers, trims, shakes, and medical cannabis products defined by the Act as tinctures, oils, pills, edible items, vapors, liquids, creams, gels, patches, and topical formulations, among others.
At every transaction, a licensed dispensary may only sell to a licensed patient, caregiver, or parent/guardian any combination or all of the following:
Six medical cannabis seedlings
Six mature medical cannabis plants
Three ounces or 84.9 grams of cannabis
One ounce or 28.3 grams of cannabis concentrate
72 ounces or 2,037.6 grams of medical cannabis edible products
The Medical Marijuana and Patient Protection Act does not mention the delivery of medical cannabis to licensed medical cannabis patients or caregivers. The medical cannabis transported license only authorizes the delivery of medical cannabis from and to licensed medical cannabis businesses.
Qualified Comanche County residents or visitors may apply for the State of Oklahoma medical cannabis patient license or medical cannabis caregiver license.
The types of medical cannabis patient licenses are:
Adult in-state medical cannabis patient license (two-year validity)
Minor in-state medical cannabis patient license (two-year validity)
Short-term in-state medical cannabis patient license (Adult or minor, 60-day validity)
Out-of-State medical cannabis patient license (Adult or minor, 30-day validity)
The Out-of-State medical cannabis patient license may only be applied for by holders of a valid medical cannabis card from their home state. They must submit additional valid proof of identity and their photo.
For the three other types of medical cannabis patient licenses, the patient must bring the printed Physician Recommendation Form for Adult Patients or Physician Recommendation Form for Minor Patients to an OMMA-registered state-licensed doctor of allopathic, osteopathic, or podiatric medicine. After a medical examination, the doctor will sign the form if the patient is found to have a medical condition that will benefit from the therapeutic or palliative use of medical cannabis. Patients who are minors will need the signatures of two doctors.
The physician’s form will state whether the recommendation is for a two-year or a short-term license and if a caregiver is needed. A Caregiver Designation Form must then be printed and completed by both the patient and the caregiver.
These documents must be scanned and the digital copies submitted at the OMMA online licensing portal with the patient’s and caregiver’s digital photo, a scanned proof of identification, and scanned proof of Oklahoma residency. Patients who are minors will also need a parent or guardian’s proof of identification with a signature, and proof of Oklahoma residency.
All medical cannabis patient licenses have an application fee of $100 and an additional credit card processing fee of $4.30. For in-state applicants who can prove their enrolment in Medicare or Medicaid, or are categorized as 100% disabled veterans, the application fee is $20 with an additional credit card processing fee of $2.50. Caregiver licenses are free of charge.
The license will be mailed to the patient or caregiver after about 14 days of processing and two days of printing.
All retail sales of medical cannabis and medical cannabis products in Comanche County are subject to a 7% tax based on the selling price. This tax is passed on by the licensed dispensary to the purchasing licensed medical cannabis patient or caregiver. The licensed dispensary remits the collected taxes to the Oklahoma Tax Commission.
Medical cannabis was legalized in 2019 in Comanche County.
Data from the Comanche County Sheriff's Office on the FBI’s Crime Explorer page shows that a year before medical cannabis legalization, in 2018, there were three marijuana offense arrests, all for possession.
A year after medical cannabis legislation, in 2020, there were no marijuana offense arrests.
In the latest available data, in 2021, there were also no marijuana offense arrests.
The following were the DUI arrests in those years:
2018: 6 arrests
2020: 0 arrests
20201: 0 arrests