Oklahoma Marijuana Cultivation License

Interested in starting a Cannabis business in Oklahoma?

Does Oklahoma Require Marijuana Growers to Obtain Cultivation License?

Yes, marijuana growers in Oklahoma are required to obtain cultivation licenses, known as medical marijuana grower licenses in Oklahoma. Grower license can be obtained from the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA).

Licensed growers of medical marijuana in Oklahoma are usually listed in the OMMA licensed growers directory. The growers require business licenses for them to be able to operate. They are only authorized to sell to licensed Oklahoma processors and dispensaries. In June 2018, Oklahoma legalized the cultivation of medical marijuana and subsequently established the OMMA, which operates under the Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH). However, in May 2021, the cultivation of marijuana in Oklahoma was subjected to stricter regulations after the passage of House Bill (HB) 2272. This strict regulation is to ensure dishonest businesses do not exploit the loophole in the pre-existing medical marijuana law.

Grower licenses are like permit declarations. Authorized growers must comply with the stipulations of OSDH Medical Marijuana Regulations. The licenses are valid for a year and must be renewed yearly under the OMMA rules.

What are the Different Types of Cultivation Licenses in Oklahoma?

Those intending to grow marijuana for medical purposes in Oklahoma are required to obtain medical marijuana grower licenses from the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA). There is no other marijuana cultivation license available in Oklahoma other than the medical marijuana grower license. If an intending grower has different locations to grow marijuana in Oklahoma counties or cities, then different grower licenses must be obtained for such locations.

Who Can Grow Marijuana in Oklahoma?

Adults who are Oklahoma residents and are at least 25 years of age can grow marijuana for medical purposes in Oklahoma. However, there are distinct requirements for the medical marijuana grower license as stipulated in the Oklahoma medical marijuana regulations. It should be noted that convicted citizens are not allowed to grow marijuana in Oklahoma as intending growers will be subjected to criminal history background checks. Minors can cultivate marijuana in Oklahoma without a license but must have an approved supervising adult in their household for the marijuana plants grown in their homes. The only minors under the age of 18 permitted to use, possess and grow marijuana at home are those with medical marijuana patient cards. In Oklahoma, there are restrictions to this marijuana cultivation permission. The restrictions include growing a maximum of six mature marijuana plants and six seedlings, respectively. Approved medical marijuana patients can only grow marijuana inside their properties and away from public view.

How to Get a Marijuana Cultivation License in Oklahoma

Prospective marijuana growers can apply for marijuana cultivation licenses in Oklahoma via an online portal managed by the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority. All application requirements and information are available on the OMMA website. An applicant should get the following documents and information handy when completing the online application:

  • Birth certificate
  • Proof of two years residency before the application date or five continuous years of residence within the last 25 years. The acceptable proof of residency includes an Oklahoma driver’s license, identification card, voter’s identification card, and residential property deed. Others are rental agreements for property located in Oklahoma and utility bills for the current month before the application date.
  • Evidence of business name registration and permission to do business in Oklahoma state
  • Applicant ID such as Oklahoma driver’s license, voter’s card, and identification card
  • Certificate of Compliance from the city or county where the growing facility is located
  • Background check reports
  • Certificate of good standing from the Secretary of State
  • Oklahoma tax permit

The OMMA also requires each applicant to submit a surety bond for at least $50,000 per license or proof that they have owned their cultivation premises for at least 5 years.

The OMMA provides applicants with the Marijuana License Application Checklist to assist them with the application process. Persons having difficulty applying for Oklahoma marijuana grower licenses can contact the OMMA at (405) 522-OMMA. Accurate email, phone number, and name must be provided when completing the online application. Otherwise, applicants will not receive verification emails as expected. The OMMA also provides a support email for applicants who require changes that cannot be made through the application portal. After 14 business days of receiving an application, the OMMA will issue a license to the applicant provided they submitted all the required documents and accurate information. Any information required and not provided will render the application incomplete and will be returned to the applicant for rectification. A denial letter, with reasons, will be issued to applicants within 14 business days where they fail to fulfill all requirements.

How Much Do Marijuana Cultivation Licenses Cost in Oklahoma?

The total fee for an Oklahoma grower license depends on the canopy size of the intended cultivation area as well as whether it is located indoors or outdoors. The tables below provide summaries of the Oklahoma grower license fees. These initial licensing fees are non-refundable and must be based on the total canopy size the licensee estimates will be harvested, sold, or transferred that year. The marijuana grower license is valid for one year and must be renewed annually. The annual renewal fee is also non-refundable and calculated based on the canopy size sold, harvested, or transferred in the 12 months preceding the renewal application.

For Indoor, Greenhouse, or Light-Deprivation Cultivation Sites

Tier Canopy Size Application Fee Card Processing Fee Total Fee
Tier 1 Up to 10,000 square feet $2,500 $58.30 $2558.3
Tier 2 10,001 - 20,000 square feet $5,000 $114.55 $5114.55
Tier 3 20,001 - 40,000 square feet $10,000 $227.05 $10,227.05
Tier 4 40,001 - 60,000 square feet $20,000 $452.04 $20,452.04
Tier 5 60,001 - 80,000 square feet $30,000 $677.05 $30,677.05
Tier 6 80,001 - 99,999 square feet $40,000 $902.05 $40,902.05
Tier 7 10,000 square feet or more $50,000 + 25 cents per each additional square foot 2.25% of (fee + $2) Varies

For Outdoor Locations

Tier Canopy Size Application Fee Card Processing Fee Total Fee
Tier 1 Up to 2.5 acres $2,500 $58.30 $2558.3
Tier 2 2 - 5 acres $5,000 $114.55 $5114.55
Tier 3 5 - 10 acres $10,000 $227.05 $10,227.05
Tier 4 10 - 20 acres $20,000 $452.04 $20,452.04
Tier 5 20 - 30 acres $30,000 $677.05 $30,677.05
Tier 6 30 - 40 acres $40,000 $902.05 $40,902.05
Tier 7 40 - 50 acres $50,000 $1,127.04 $51,127.04
Tier 8 50 acres or more $50,000 + $250 for each additional acre 2.25% of (fee + $2) Varies

Can Licensed Marijuana Cultivators Hold Other Cannabis Licenses in Oklahoma?

Yes. Licensed marijuana cultivators can hold other marijuana licenses in Oklahoma, but each license must be processed separately.

In this section:
Oklahoma Marijuana Cultivation License