Possession of marijuana in Oklahoma is legal for only approved patients with a medical marijuana license signed by a registered physician. Such persons can possess up to three ounces of cannabis in public and eight ounces in private residences. Possession of recreational marijuana remains illegal in the state. Therefore residents of Oklahoma cannot legally use marijuana for enjoyment purposes.
The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) oversees the state's medical cannabis program. OMMA primarily maintains a registry of patients, physicians, and caregivers. The agency also issues licenses for growers, testing labs, processors, dispensaries, and transporters.
In Oklahoma, any amount of weed possession is illegal unless for medical use and with licensing from OMMA. As per the Oklahoma Uniform Controlled Substances Act, cannabis is classified as a Schedule I substance. Therefore, marijuana possession without a prescription is illegal. The severity of an offender's punishment increases with respect to the amount of weed found, the location, and the type of marijuana found.
In Oklahoma, possessing weed for recreational purposes and without a marijuana card is illegal. However, first-time offenders with clean criminal records often get lesser penalties than former offenders.
For instance, a first-time offense of possessing any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor. The general punishment is one-year imprisonment and a fine of $1000. However, a first-time offender may get a deferred sentence where the court places the defendant on probation before sentence.
To complete the probation period and get the case dismissed, first-time offenders must fulfill the terms of probation. Probationary conditions might include:
If a defendant breaches the terms of a deferred judgment, the court will cancel the probation and find them guilty. The defendant may also get the maximum imprisonment or prison term permitted by the statute that was broken, according to the court. The defendant may also be "sanctioned" by the court by receiving a penalty like an additional 30 days behind bars or community work.
Oklahoma residents can only buy weed from state-licensed retailers for medical purposes. The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority has a list of approved dispensaries for interested persons. Sales of legal weed for qualifying individuals may take place online or by visiting physical shops.
Interested parties must be 21 years old and above to buy weed in Oklahoma. Adults in this age bracket need only a state-issued identification card and money to get weed. Registered persons below this age bracket can only buy weed with the help of their registered caregivers. Any individual purchasing weed under the age of 21 may be charged with a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1000.
In Oklahoma, residents above 21 can carry between an ounce (28 grams of weed) and three ounces of marijuana for medical use in public. In private residences, individuals can possess up to eight ounces of weed. Individuals can also carry:
Carrying more than three ounces of weed in public may lead to a fine of up to $1000 and a one-year jail time. In addition, offenders caught with more than three ounces of weed opened in a car may get their licenses suspended.
Minors below 21 years found with marijuana may face charges under Oklahoma's juvenile court system. Generally, underage cannabis use for recreation is a crime, while medical patients are only permitted to purchase weed through their caregivers. As a result, minors caught with either medical or recreational marijuana will face charges which include:
Six mature plants. In Oklahoma law, patients with medical marijuana cards can possess up to six mature plants and six seedlings. Generally, it is prohibited to grow cannabis plants in all open spaces. As such, approved patients should only plant in private residences or with landlords' permission.
A business entity in Oklahoma may lawfully cultivate cannabis for medical purposes if it has a license as a medical marijuana grower. Only authorized processors and dispensaries may purchase from licensed producers. Commercial licenses for growing marijuana costs $2,500 for the application fee. Each renewal costs $2,500 and takes place annually. Generally, applicants must be above 25 years and an Oklahoma resident.
Carrying weed (either recreational or medical) across state lines is a criminal offense since marijuana possession remains illegal according to federal laws. However, the Transportation Security Administration allows residents to travel with low-THC (below 0.3% THC) herbal weed.
That said, authorized patients can take up to the legal amounts of marijuana on flights inside the state of Oklahoma. Therefore, if you must carry medical marijuana with you on vacation, be aware that it might not be treated any differently from marijuana used for recreational purposes. This suggests that if medical marijuana is found during airport security checks, it may still be seized even if you have an Oklahoma medical marijuana license.
Yes. It is a criminal offense in Oklahoma to get high in public, according to the Smoking in Public Places and Indoor Workplaces Act. However, the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority approved residents can use legal weed in their homes or in rented apartments with landlords' consent.
Furthermore, driving while under the influence of marijuana is an offense in Oklahoma. Persons caught operating a car while impaired by marijuana may face jail time, penalties, and license suspension. Apart from the six-month license suspension, the court may also order installing an ignition interlock device in offenders' automobiles if caught driving under the influence of marijuana.